Obligatory Resolutions Post

Well, here we are, on the cusp of 2014 and another year of pretending to be a writer, faffing (my dad’s word) about and not doing anything concrete. Meandering aimlessly through the writer’s universe, talking toot and marvelling at my own inability to motivate myself.

Well not anymore!Anne Tyler Quote

Listen here 2014, I’m going to grab you by the throat and kick you in the baubles, and what better way to do it that with a bunch of New Year Resolutions that I can actually keep?

What’s that? Ones I can keep?

Of course! With baby steps. I’m not going to look to get published, nor am I going to write 1,000 words a night without fail.

That way madness lies.

I’m going to write for just 30 minutes a day, and just in January. So it’s more of a January Resolution. If my 30 minutes of writing is utter garbage, then so be it. Making notes for forthcoming projects counts towards my 30 minutes, don’t be judging me!

So what good is this if it’s just for January?

The idea is that I get into a rhythm, a pattern of sorts where my wife knows that I’m going to write and hopefully I won’t be bothered. If I only write 200 words per session, by the end of the month I will have written 6,200 words. Not much I admit, and probably not all of the same project, just thoughts, blogging, outlining, that sort of thing.

The important thing is that I build a rhythm. Once the momentum is going it will be easier to maintain throughout 2014. Who knows where that may take me?

Happy New Year!

2 Trackbacks to “Obligatory Resolutions Post”

Leave a Reply

