Time to scrape myself clean….

So I did it. I wrote 50,000 words in 30 days and my lack of activity on this very blog serves to highlight how much of my life it took up. Between the daily grind of work, the washing up and NaNoWriMo, there was little to time to eat or bathe, and I sat unshaven in a pile of my own excrement during November.

But now it’s done, and I have the foundations of (what I believe is) a good story. It concerns two brothers searching for the vessel of the younger brothers soul, a young woman who holds the key to the civil war raging through the land they inhabit.

It became unexpectedly profane, the dialogue mirroring real life conversation and it left me feeling free to some degree, throwing away the shackles of political correctness; it wasn’t me saying this stuff, it was my characters, and my characters are pretty despicable creatures.

The freedom led to some rather over-the-top violence. Or maybe it wasn’t over-the-top, having never been in a war zone I am probably ill-equipped to judge, but I wanted to convey the terror that men and women can evoke in others in stressful situations. I think I succeeded if the reaction of an initial beta reader is anything to go by.

So anyway, I’m honing the dialogue and polishing it up a bit before releasing it to volunteers to beta read.

That’s your cue to volunteer with gusto, vim and vigour…….

5 Comments to “Time to scrape myself clean….”

  1. I take it then that it won’t be suitable for 11 year olds?!

  2. Ok, I’ll bite. But if I end up having nightmares then you’ll be in a whole lot of trouble!

Leave a Reply

