Motivations

The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe.

Gustave Flaubert

I’ve been asked what motivates me to undertake the NaNoWriMo challenge and I’m having trouble putting it into words (some author I’m going to be!).

Motivation is a difficult thing to describe. I am motivated to write a novel for purely self gratifying reasons whereas the motivation to raise money for the hospice comes from the realisation that they could not continue to operate without charitable donations. It is my intentions that these two motivations feed from each other towards the goal of remembering Deanna.

Deanna and I first met when we worked together at N**** W*** W**** and immediately got off on the wrong foot – basically each of us thought the other an idiot; now I cannot even remember why we thought this, but we both agreed that we weren’t favourably disposed to each other at the time. Eventually however, we both recognised a kindred spirit in each other and spent many evenings recording mix tapes to listen to on our journeys watching Wigan Athletic playing far-flung places such as Lincoln City, Wycombe Wanderers and Luton Town.

 Deanna was with me when we spent a long Guinness-fuelled evening celebrating the 3rd division title and she acted as a human crutch when I drunkenly fell down the terraces, tearing my ligaments, celebrating a goal at Blackpool.

 Wigan and Leigh Hospice took marvellous care of Deanna towards the end of her life and I really cannot thank them enough. I miss her very much and still can’t believe I won’t ever bump into her again. She was only 42 and leaves behind a husband and two daughters.

 —

 On a lighter note, I’m going to have to have my portrait painted for this blog; or maybe have some arty, authorly  photos taken with plenty of mood lighting and a wide-brimmed hat. Maybe a pipe and a smoking jacket.

I might have a photo taken of myself holding some kind of pistol and standing upon something I’ve hunted and killed. A chav, possibly.

Leave a Reply

