Thought Crystallisation

I do not like to write – I like to have written.

Gloria Steinem

The Hospice writing challenge will only begin on November 1st which allows me a little thinking time to outline the plot and characters (which is allowed under the National Novel Writing Month rules), so as such I haven’t yet got a title in mind, I’m hoping this will present itself organically during the writing process.

To begin with I’ve given myself a two-sentence “kickstarter” as a skeleton upon which to flesh out some plotlines: “Princess Ai’tn of the Four Kingdoms and Mother of the Forest is returning home with information that could crush the rebellion against her family. But her homeland is barely recognisable from the verdant pastures she left behind and nothing is as it seems”.

The setting will (probably) be upon a Dyson Shell but where the inhabitants have regressed into a more medieval way of life whilst retaining certain advanced (yet dangerous and poorly understood) technologies.

The journey of the princess will be against the background of civil war: one outcast brother raising a rebellion against his sibling (the princess’ father, and King).

This is as far as I have got, and to be honest, it is quite likely to change completely, but I will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

